18th Festival announces 94 shortlisted artists

A+ a-
posted on 02/05/2013
The public call for entries was met by over 2,000 submissions.
The Festival will take place from November 5, 2013, to February 2, 2014

The open call for the Southern Panoramas show of the 18th International Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil closed in October 2012 with a record-high number of entries: over 2,000 proposals were sent in from all areas of the planet’s geopolitical South – Latin America, Caribbean, Africa, Middle East, Eastern Europe, South and Southeast Asia, and Oceania.

Were shortlisted artists from 34 countries (nine Latin American, seven African, five Middle Eastern, five Southeast Asian, four Eastern European, and two Oceanian). Projects include installations, video installations, drawings, sculptures, paintings, artist books, and videos.

The curatorial committee composed of Solange Farkas, Júlia Rebouças, Fernando Oliva and Eduardo de Jesus has highlighted the high level of the works submitted and the reaffirming of a host of conceptual and formal notions typical of the geopolitical South of the world, ranging from conflict-oriented political approaches to singular perspectives and perceptions of the city.

As it celebrates its 30th anniversary, the Festival commemorates not only its consolidation, but also its maturity. Open to all art formats and languages since 2011 (then in its 17th edition), the Festival constitutes itself as the leading international platform for dissemination and reflection on art from the geopolitical South. The edition will include a historical section retracing Videobrasil’s steps back to 1983, portraying the issues that lie at the core of the Southern Panoramas show.

Subscribe to our newsletter (box on the left) and be up to speed on all our new programming, and on what’s happening in the Southern scene. See the open call shortlist below:

Akram Zaatari, LEBANON
Alexandre Brandão, BRAZIL
Ali Cherri, LEBANON
Amanda Melo, BRAZIL
Ana Prata, BRAZIL
Andrew de Freitas, NEW ZEALAND
Ayrson Heráclito Novato Ferreira, BRAZIL
Bakary Diallo, MALI
Basir Mahmood, PAKISTAN
Bita Razavi, IRAN
Bridget Walker, AUSTRALIA
Caetano Dias, BRAZIL
Cão – group, BRAZIL
Carlos Guzmán, COLOMBIA
Carlos Mélo, BRAZIL
Charly Nijensohn, ARGENTINA
Chico Dantas, BRAZIL
Christian Bermudez, COSTA RICA
Clarissa Tossin, BRAZIL
Claudia Joskowicz, BOLIVIA
Coletivo Madeirista, BRAZIL
Daniel Escobar, BRAZIL
Daniel Jacoby, PERU
Daniel Steegmann-Mangrané, SPAIN/BRAZIL
Dor Guez, ISRAEL
Em'kal Eyongakpa, CAMAROON
Eneida Sanches, BRAZIL
Enrique Ramírez, CHILE
Federico Lamas, ARGENTINA
Fernão Paim, BRAZIL
Flávia Ribeiro, BRAZIL
Gabriel Mascaro, BRAZIL
Gabriel Torggler, BRAZIL
Gabriela Golder, ARGENTINA
Gianfranco Foschino, CHILE
Gui Mohallem, BRAZIL
Gusztáv Hámos, HUNGARY
Haig Aivazian, LEBANON
Hou Chien Cheng, TAIWAN
Irineu Rocha da Cruz, CABO VERDE
Iván Marino and Aya Eliav - duo, ISRAEL and ARGENTINA
Jacinto Astiazarán, MEXICO
Jeanno Gaussi, AFGANISTAN
João Loureiro, BRAZIL
Lais Myrrha, BRAZIL
Laura Huertas Millan, COLOMBIA
Lenora de Barros, BRAZIL
Letícia Ramos, BRAZIL
Lorraine Heller-Nicholas, AUSTRALIA
Lucas Bambozzi, BRAZIL
LucFosther Diop, CAMAROON
Luiz de Abreu, BRAZIL
Luiz Roque, BRAZIL
Mahardika Yudha, INDONESIA
Mahmoud Khaled, EGYPT
Marcellvs L., BRAZIL
Maria Klabin, BRAZIL
Mariana Xavier, BRAZIL
Maurício Arango, COLOMBIA
Maya Watanabe, PERU
Michel Zózimo, BRAZIL
Morgan Wong, HONG KONG
Nazareno Rodrigues, BRAZIL
Nurit Sharett, ISRAEL
Olivia McGilchrist, JAMAICA
Omar Salomão, BRAZIL
Orit Ben-Shitrit, ISRAEL
Pablo Lobato, BRAZIL
Pedro Motta, BRAZIL
Rafael Carneiro, BRAZIL
Rehema Chachage, TANZANIA
Roberto Bellini Alves Monteiro, BRAZIL
Roberto Winter, BRAZIL
Rodrigo Bivar, BRAZIL
Rodrigo Garcia Dutra, BRAZIL
Rodrigo Sassi, BRAZIL
Sebastian Diaz Morales, ARGENTINA
Sherman Ong, MALAYSIA
Soft turns (Olejnik & Gorlitz), POLAND
Tales Bedeschi, BRAZIL
Tatewaki Nio, JAPAN/BRAZIL
Teresa Berlinck, BRAZIL
Tiago Romagnani Silveira, BRAZIL
Tiécoura N'Daou, MALI
Vijai Patchineelam, BRAZIL
Virgínia de Medeiros, BRAZIL
Viviane Teixeira, BRAZIL
Vygandas Simbelis, LITHUANIA
Zafer Topaloglu, TURKEY